Help Desk Software & Beyond
August 22, 2017, 02:01:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
To post messages you need to register. We apologize for inconvenience, but this is to prevent spam.
Registration is instant (no email verification) and we do not ask for any personal information.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to Help Desk Software forum!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: SQL ODBC / DSN Error  (Read 41897 times)
sreichert8
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


JESUS SAVES! Everyone else must backup...


View Profile
« on: February 27, 2008, 08:12:13 AM »

Just purchased and installed the SQL Module, setup the ODBC and received error "Error: No ODBC DSN records found on this server." Huh
Logged
Sparky
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 85
Posts: 2,275


stop pushing all those buttons


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 12:24:40 PM »

I don't know the answer and I couldn't find a similar problem by searching.

Send a support ticket to Alex...

http://ttx.helpdeskconnect.com/?cmd=addticket

Then please let us know what you find out.   Wink
Logged

Did you update the paths in ttxcfg.cgi after moving TTX to your new location?   Undecided
To those seeking help.... please report back when you figure it out.  Cheesy
sreichert8
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


JESUS SAVES! Everyone else must backup...


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 04:03:45 PM »

Thanks for the response.  I'll send him a ticket right away.

Thanks...
Scott
Logged
eireann_abu
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2008, 04:19:04 PM »

I'm also seeing this issue using SQL express 2005 and Activeperl version 5.10.0
I have setup the DSN but cannot connect using mssqlsetup.cgi

Did you manage to resolve this?
Logged
gc
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2008, 11:39:13 AM »

Same problem. I set up a test machine and it worked just fine, so I removed it and set it up on our production server (Windows Server 2003, SQL 2000, ActivePerl 5.10.0 Build 1002, ttx rev. 2.24.430) and there was a difference:

The Perl Package Manager would not allow installing DBD-ODBC 1.14. Apparently, that's been deprecated for version 1.15, which was not available via the package manager until this week. After installing this later version this week, I now have the same symptom indicated above: Defined a System DSN, yet mssqlsetup.cgi says I don't have one.
Logged
kenshiro
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2008, 03:19:53 AM »

Hi,

I'm facing the same problem here too. I've contacted Alex few days ago, but his reply is not positive - (he will not troubleshoot any problem outside of TTX scope).

Fyi my system is running Windows Server 2003 (SP1) with...
- ActivePerl 5.8.8
- Apache 2.x
- DBI 1.602
- DBD-ODBC 1.15
- DSN set in \Control Panel\Admin Tools\Data Sources (ODBC) as "TTX.dsn"

But I still see the error ...

Error: No ODBC DSN records found on this server.
Please configure DSN prior to running this program.


Anyone manage to solve this problem?  Huh
Logged
phrea84
Newbie
*

Karma: 5
Posts: 49


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2008, 11:45:50 AM »

is this on an x64 server or x86?
Logged
cozilla
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2008, 09:27:11 AM »

x86

has anyone got this to work yet?


colin
Logged
Sparky
Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 85
Posts: 2,275


stop pushing all those buttons


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2008, 10:52:17 AM »

At this point, I'll suggest posting something in the SQL forum over at SitePoint.  Maybe one of you can start a thread, post a link to it from here, and then others can go post in the same thread.  More people posting with the same problem in the same thread would probably get some good attention.  Just be sure to search first over there.

http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88

They probably won't be able to help with TTX, but if this problem really has nothing to do with TTX they won't have to.
Logged

Did you update the paths in ttxcfg.cgi after moving TTX to your new location?   Undecided
To those seeking help.... please report back when you figure it out.  Cheesy
sreichert8
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


JESUS SAVES! Everyone else must backup...


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2008, 01:58:12 PM »

I, in fact did get it resolved and it ended up being a permissions issue.  When you initially setup the TTX system start by creating a new user with rights to just about everything.  I created a TTXAdmin with admin rights to IIS/SQL/local admin rights.  I also have this published on my own 2003 box.
Logged
cozilla
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2008, 09:22:47 AM »

If you dont mind you could elaborate on this a bit.  When you say setup TTX system what are you refering to?

thanks
colin
Logged
sreichert8
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 11


JESUS SAVES! Everyone else must backup...


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2008, 03:39:40 PM »

When I setup TTX.  I mean upload the entire contents to the directory as shown in the setup guide with proper permissions.  This shouldn't be an IIS problem its probably an issue with SQL or on the 2003 box itself.  Did you try to setup the TTX as a flat file first just to see if that would work first?  Its easy to convert to the SQL module after the fact.  Let me know how you make out.

Scott
Logged
netventure
Guest
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2008, 04:57:48 PM »

We have ours running just fine using a flat file but get this error. 

Can you elaborate on this comment?

"When you initially setup the TTX system start by creating a new user with rights to just about everything."

I assume you're talking about a windows user, what exactly did you do? What permissions did you apply and to what?

Thanks.
Neil
Logged
cozilla
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 1
Posts: 57


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2008, 08:34:05 AM »

When I setup TTX.  I mean upload the entire contents to the directory as shown in the setup guide with proper permissions.  This shouldn't be an IIS problem its probably an issue with SQL or on the 2003 box itself.  Did you try to setup the TTX as a flat file first just to see if that would work first?  Its easy to convert to the SQL module after the fact.  Let me know how you make out.

Scott

I have TTX working fine as a flat file but would like to use the SQL module.  And when I try to make the connection I get the DSN error.  Which version of SQL server are you using?
Logged
netventure
Guest
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2008, 01:30:00 PM »

We've tried MS SQL 2005 SP2 and SQL 2000 SP4, neither work.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1 RC3 | SMF © 2001-2006, Lewis Media Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 20 queries.